- Activate the checkboxes in View → Show → Item Checkboxes.
- Select each file to add it to the selection without pressing Ctrl.
- Return to the same menu to remove the boxes.
- If they are still visible on a convertible, return to laptop mode.
You want to copy several photos from a folder, but they're spread across dozens of files. If you'd prefer to select them with your mouse without holding down the Ctrl key, enable the Windows 11 checkboxesYou can select each photo separately and copy all the selected ones at once.
The option is in File Explorer → View → Show → Item CheckboxesYou can disable it from the same menu. If the boxes still appear after unchecking them, check if Windows is using your computer's touch interface.
How to enable or disable checkboxes in Windows 11

- Press Windows + E to open File Explorer and enter a folder, such as Documents or Downloads.
- Click on See in the top command bar.
- Open the submenu Show and select Element boxes.
- Hover your pointer over a file to check that a small box appears next to it.
The brand alongside Element boxes The menu indicates whether the function is enabled. To uncheck the boxes, return to View → Show and press the option again.
You can also change the same setting from the three dots (…) → Options → View. In Advanced settings, seeks Use the checkboxes to select itemsCheck or uncheck it depending on what you want to do and press Accept.
How to select multiple files using checkboxes
Hover your pointer over the first file you want to select and click its checkbox. Then, find the second file and click its checkbox. The two files will be selected even if they are separated in the list. If you make a mistake, click again on the checkbox of the file you want to remove from the selection.
For example, if you have several invoices mixed with images in your Downloads folder, select the invoices you want to save. Before copying them, check How many elements are selected? in the Explorer's bottom bar. Then, tap Ctrl + COpen the destination folder and use Ctrl + V.
In the view DetailsLook for the checkboxes next to the rows. In icon view, they may appear in a corner of the thumbnail when you hover over it. Click the checkbox to add the file to the selection. A regular click on the name will replace your existing selection.
What to do if the boxes do not appear or cannot be removed

- The menu is checked, but you don't see any boxes. Open a folder with files, switch to View → Details and hover the pointer over a row. Then, check in Options → View that "Use checkboxes to select items" is also checked.
- The boxes keep appearing on a convertible laptop. If your computer has a detachable keyboard, reattach it. If you can fold it to use it as a tablet, return it to laptop mode. Windows 11 automatically changes the interface depending on the computer's orientation or the connected keyboard. On some models, touch view may keep the boxes visible.
- The change is not reflected in the current window. Close the Explorer and open it again with Windows + EIf the menu still doesn't respond or the windows freeze, restart your computer and check for pending updates in Settings → Windows Update.
If what you see are green circles with a mark In the OneDrive Status column, these icons indicate file availability. Those with a solid green circle and a white checkmark are set to stay on the device. The setting Element boxes Controls the boxes you can check to select files.
How to select files without checking the boxes
If you only need to make a specific selection, you can use the mouse and keyboard. Choose the method based on how the files are arranged in the folder.
- Separate files. Press and hold the key Ctrl and click on each file. You can Ctrl-click on any of them again to remove it from the selection.
- Consecutive files. Click on the first one, then press and hold Caps Lock and click on the last one. The Explorer will also select those that are between them in the current order of the list.
- All elements. Click on the file list and press Ctrl + AYou can also open the menu of the three points (…) and choose Select all.
If the files you're looking for appear together when you sort the folder by date or name, Shift + click It allows you to select them all at once. If they're mixed in with other documents, the checkboxes let you add them as you go through the list.
Index